Style and Savings Guide to Saying Yes to the Dress

 

Friday  marathons of TLC’s Say Yes to the Dress were a guilty pleasure even before I got engaged. Not for the romance and not even just for the dresses, but mostly for the hilarious consultants and the drama.

From watching this show there were 2 things I learned:

1 – I did not want a big entourage to shop with me

2- I would want to knock a zero off the end of that price tag

Here are a few tips to help you navigate a sea of taffeta & tulle:

5 Tips to Say Yes to the Dress

1 – Bring 2 or 3 Special Ladies

The reason I didn’t want a big group to shop with me wasn’t out of fear of mean & hurtful comments (because really, I hope the brides on the show know those girls are not your friends). Anyone who I would even consider inviting to shop with me would be supportive, but everyone has her own style. I didn’t want to be influenced by too many differing opinions and not think for myself.

2- Know your Budget

Have an idea of how much you want to spend. This will help you narrow down your options and prevent you from falling in love with a dress you know you can’t afford.

3- Factor in the Cost of Alterations 

Alterations can easily add $100+. Corset styles can help to avoid some of the adjustments (Spoiler alert: I didn’t take my own advice on this one). Even if the dress fits well, if it has a long train you will probably want a bustle added so it won’t drag across the floor all night at the reception.

4 – Did you know How Many Shades of White  There Are?

White, Soft White, Ivory are not synonyms. Once you see them next to each other or try on the different variations, you can tell the difference. After trying on an ivory dress, I knew I wanted a brighter white.

5- It’s OK to Think About It

Another thing I like about Say Yes to the Dress is the happy moment when the bride says “yes to the dress” obviously! Her friend oooh and ahhhh over her and maybe her mom starts to cry.

In the back of my mind, I may have wanted a moment like this but I’m a logical girl at heart. I don’t like to be impulsive or give in to emotions too quickly. So my first dress shopping trip ended like this….

say yes to the dress:

After taking 4 or 5 days to think I made my decision.

 

Say Yes to the Dress I Said Yes (Purple) Journal $12.95 #SYTTD:

I’m happy to say that my mom found the dress that I love. It has sparkles, intricate detail, and a dramatic lace train, but most of all it’s special to me because mommy & grandmother liked it so much. Dress shopping should be fun, so don’t take it too seriously & do share the experience with people you love.

 

What is your best dress shopping advice? Who would be your shopping buddy?

Happy Wedding Wednesday!

Style and Savings Wedding logo       5fe57-wedding-wednesday-button_

 

7 comments

  1. I love this post! I made sure to take some time and think about my dress before going back to buy it (although the stylist was not very happy with this choice). In-between that time I took photos to a seamstress and got an estimate of alterations, which helped me decide on “The Dress”

    Like

  2. So true! I had never watched that show, but one of my bridesmaids loves it. I couldn’t get over all the different ivory, white, champagne colors and I highly suggest also trying dresses on even if you don’t think you’ll like them looking at them on the hanger. I was in shock of how different so many dresses looked once you put them on. Glad you found THE ONE 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

