Weekend Recap: Bridal Show

2016 Bridal Affair

This weekend I attended a bridal show called the Midwest Rentals Bridal Affair.

Being in a small town, I thought this would be a small-scale event, but I was pleasantly surprised!

There were nearly 100 different vendors offering a variety of services: florists, photographers, catering & cake, hairstyles and honeymoons – basically anything a bride could need

Prepare for crowds

I have only been to two bridal shows (one was last year when I was my best friend’s Maid of Honor) but both were very crowded. Some brides may bring one person – mom or maid of honor, but others will bring their entire bridal entourage!

Free cake samples!

Bakeries are sure to be at a bridal show and usually they offer free samples of wedding cake –  be sure enjoy the sweet treats. Also, many vendors will have other free gifts like candy, ink pens, and tote bags, so don’t be shy!

Enter to win

Lots of the vendors will have raffles to win free items or discounts on their services. This usually requires providing your name, email and/or telephone number. Enter any raffle you are interested in winning, but be selective in giving out your contact information. Keep in mind that you may get advertisement emails and phone calls from the vendors even if you don’t win.

Look at photo albums for inspiration

Whether or not you have your photographer booked, take a look at the sample wedding albums they bring to give you ideas of poses or local locations for your wedding photos.

Know what you need

Depending on what stage you are in in the wedding planning process, you may have some of your details in place already. If this is the case, you can narrow your focus to only the vendors you still need. For example, I already had my venue, DJ, and photographer, but I still needed to find a florist, and linen rentals.

Have you been to a Bridal Show? How was your experience?

Do you have any tips to share?

 

Style and Savings Wedding logo   5fe57-wedding-wednesday-button_

Bella And The City        Weekending     

6 comments

  1. Before we got married I went to about 3 bridal shows and when I was in college I had an internship with a wedding planner so I have been to tons! My favorite part was getting to taste all the food! The last one I went to I already had everything booked but I just wanted to get a little more inspiration!

    Like

  2. These are great tips! Bridal shows can be a circus (I am saying that even as a Wedding Planner!) sometimes the amount of people makes it a waste, but your tips are perfect!

    Like

Leave a Reply

