DIY Flower Girl Dress

Being someone with no patience for sewing, I thought this would be an easy, one-afternoon project.

This No Sew Flower Girl dress ending up being way more challenging than I thought it would be.

the-top

As the instructions recommend, the top is a crochet band. With a quick Google search, I was able to purchase one from Girls Crochet Headbands. I chose a purple unlined Tutu Top because I wondered if lining would cause the top to be less stretchy.

Purple Crochet Tutu Top

Photo credit: Girls Crochet Headbands

Although I planned to cover the top with flowers, I didn’t want any part of it to be revealing (or scratchy) so I found a low-price ($3!), lavender, spaghetti strap tank top from Walmart to be worn underneath.

the-skirt

Making the tulle skirt layers was pretty simple – with Mommy cutting the tulle into strips and me tying them to the crochet band, we were able to put two layers on quickly.

Even after a third layer was on, we were concerned about whether the tulle would be see-through. We ended up using a fabric skirt as a slip to be worn under the dress – luckily the skirt was a keepsake from when my sister and I were little, so this was no additional expense.

the-finished-productThe instructions showed how you could use a glue-gun to attach each flower to the crochet top. Of course the photos made it look easy, but I didn’t know how well they would stay on or how the flowers would keep their shape without the plastic stems.

Thankfully Mommy rescued the dress and this is also where this stopped being a “No Sew” DIY.

Mommy hand stitched each of the flowers to the dress along with a tiny purple bead in the center of each flower.

 

flower girl dress.jpg

While I liked the general idea to make this dress, it was not as fast as I thought it would be and it also required a skirt and tank top to be worn under it. Despite the extra effort – making a flower girl dress is a lot less expensive than buying one.

Overall, I’m so happy with this beautiful dress.

the-big-day

img_2609

Photo Credit: Marta Lewis Photography

img_2611

Photo Credit: Marta Lewis Photography

Leave a Reply

