Glossies Made Me Do It – July 2017

It’s time for another edition of “Glossies Made Me Do It”.  Link up with Happy Pretty Sweet or Shooting Stars Mag to join the fun.

Oprah

Oprah’s puppy pictures made me say “awwwww”

“A home without dogs is like a library without books”


This quote from Oprah made me smile because dogs and books are both close to my heart ❤️ too.

Essence

The July issue of Essence featured the new movie Girls Trip starring Queen Latifah, Jada Pinkett Smith, Regina Hall & Tiffany Haddish. The movie (and Essence Fest) takes place in New Orleans which made me remember how much I enjoyed our trip to NOLA

Redbook

Redbook’s July cover model is the beautiful Tracee Ellis Ross. She has a 2 page interview and I would love to find a dress like the striped one she wears on page 87.

“Make Some Amazing Memories” on pages 88- 94 has ideas for fun things to do in the summertime – also  check out the Style and Savings Summer Fun List

Better Homes & Gardens

Page 124 has simple recipes for refreshing mixed drinks! I decided to try the Watermelon- Berry Limeade

To make two drinks, I doubled the recipe

If you have no space in your budget or kitchen for yet another gadget, use a drinking straw as a strawberry huller!

I substituted coconut water for 4 shots of Malibu and added a splash of lime juice

After blending and pouring, I really enjoyed this tasty & tropical drink

That’s all until next month – click here for previous glossy posts

3 comments

Leave a Reply

