More Wine Please !

 

Image Credit: Redbook.com

 

The pastel pink dress worn by Redbook’s March cover girl Gabrielle Union made me feel relieved that spring time is just around the corner!

Gabrielle Union has had a long acting career, but I am most familiar with her character Mary Jane Paul of  BET’s Being Mary Jane. For those of you who have yet to tune in, the show is about fictional news anchor Mary Jane Paul and the challenges she faces as she climbs to the top of her career, struggles to date & keep the right man, and takes care of her family members in Atlanta who have various issues of their own.

Recently, Gabrielle Union has also gained fame for writing a memoir titled We’re Going to Need More Wine Stories, which was my February book club pick. In 2017, I found myself reading lots of memoirs by celebrities including Gabourey Sidibe, Joanna & Chip Gaines, Lauren Graham, and Mindy Kaling. Each of these books was entertaining, had moments of humor and gave insight to what their lives were like and obstacles they overcame before they became famous.

Wine

This book was so real and honest. She really didn’t  hold back on taboo topics or embarrassing stories. On an episode of Essence Magazine’s Yes Girl! podcast, Gabrielle mentioned that the book was partially the result of notes from therapy sessions.

Many of her stories are painful to read, but were topics that were worth discussing. Many women would find at least some elements of her stories to be relatable such as feeling out of place in her community, coming of age, relationships with men, and not feeling attractive relative to culturally narrow-minded beauty standards. While this book addressed difficult topics, having the courage to talk about them is the way women can help each other and make others feel that they are not alone in the struggles they face.

Seeing Gabrielle Union’s stylish outfits in the Redbook magazine article made me enter the sweepstakes to win a $1,000 shopping spree to NY & Company. As I find myself in my late twenties, wanting to be young and stylish and professional, NY & Company has become one of my go-to shops.

 

See the source image

Image Credit: FashionSizzle.com

 

Where will you shop for spring styles?

Have you read any memoirs lately?

Life According to Steph

Linking up with Happy Pretty Sweet and Shooting Stars Mag  for “Glossies Made Me Do It”  and Jana Says for “Show Us Your Books”

Previous months of glossy posts can be found here

 

 

14 comments

  1. Oh, I love reading celebrity memoirs. I actually own a few that I really need to get to soon. I’m curious about Gabrielle’s because I have heard it’s very real and I love that. Good luck with the sweepstakes! I love going to Target and Old Navy for some “slightly better priced” new clothes. 🙂

    -Lauren
    http://www.shootingstarsmag.net

    Like

  2. I’m not a huge fan of celebrity memoirs. The last one I read was by Dave Holmes and I don’t even know if he even counts as a celebrity.

    I do love Gabrielle Union. Did you see the story in the news about her taking a newspaper to task for referring to her as Dwayne Wade’s wife instead of by her name? It was AWESOME.

    Like

  3. i really liked gabrielle union’s book! i wasn’t exactly a fan before i started, only really knew her from bring it on, but i am a fan now. she’s fabulous! love her style.

    Like

  4. I loved this book! Your review is excellent, it is one of the best celebrity books I have read.

    In the same month I read this, I read Jennifer Lopez book, which is not nearly as good as Gabriel Union’s.

    Like

Leave a comment